Advanced Practice

Advanced Practice (AP) is supported by the NHS Long Term Plan (2019), looking at increasing the numbers of AP’s to support the development of the multi-disciplinary team within Primary care. 

Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on linkedin


Advanced clinical practice is delivered by experienced, registered health and social care practitioners. It is a level of practice characterised by a high degree of autonomy and complex decision making, enabling APs to manage clinical care in partnership with individuals, families and carers. This also includes the analyisis and synthesis of complex problems, identifying innovative solutions to enhance service user experience and improve outcomes. This is underpinned by a Master’s level award, or equivalent qualification and experience, that encompasses the four pillars of advanced practice; Clinical, Leadership & Management, Education & Research, with demonstration of core capabilities alongside specific clinical competence around Primary Care.

Historically this role has been predominately been nurses, but Advanced Clinical Practitioners now come from a range of clinical backgrounds. This includes: 

  • Nurses
  • Pharmacists
  • Paramedics
  • Physiotherapists
  • Occupational Therapists
  • Dietitians 
  • Podiatrists 

There are other Allied Health Professionals who have AP roles within secondary care, however these roles are not yet within the primary care system.


HEE NW Faculty for Advancing Practice is still accepting late Expression of Interest for Primary Care.  However this has a deadline of Wednesday 15th June 2022 at 12 Noon. This is to prioritise funding for Autumn intakes.


Health Education England provides funded commissions to support the ongoing development of the Advanced Practice workforce. This funding is to enable workforce transformation by ensuring expansion of the multi-disciplinary team to meet the needs of local populations. Advanced Practice programmes are available via a funded or apprenticeship route. See North West providers listed below:

If you are interested in accessing this funding, please complete this short survey.

Four Pillars of Advanced Practice

The framework requires professionals working at the level of advanced clinical practice to have the knowledge, skills and behaviours relevant to the role. The core capabilities across the 4 pillars