About Us

What are Training Hubs?

did you know?

With a population of 3.2 million, Greater Manchester has one of the largest metropolitan areas in the United Kingdom. Comprising of ten metropolitan boroughs: Bolton, Bury, Oldham, Rochdale, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford, Wigan, and the cities of Manchester and Salford.

10 Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) – one for each of Greater Manchester’s metropolitan boroughs – organise the delivery of NHS services within Greater Manchester. There were 449 general practices in Greater Manchester delivering placed-based, patient centered care as of 2020. ‚Äč

Greater_Manchester_Training_Hub_Logo (1) (2)

Local Training Hubs

Each local training hub is guided by an experienced educator, offering multi-professional learning, development and experience.

The GM Training Hub is comprised of four local training hubs, with each supporting CCGs across Greater Manchester. Our local training hubs are as follows:  

  • Manchester, Stockport, Tameside and Glossop Local Training Hub
    • Manchester CCG, Stockport CCG, Tameside and Glossop CCG
  • Heywood, Middleton and Rochdale (HMR) Primary Care Academy
    • Bury CCG, Oldham CCG, Rochdale CCG 
  • Salford Primary Care Together
    • Salford CCG, Trafford CCG 
  • Wigan and Bolton Local Training Hub
    • Bolton CCG, Wigan CCG

Our Aims

To support the development of effective learning environments resulting in an increase in student placements.

To assist in the development of the workforce by supporting and embedding new roles.

To ensure access to suitably trained mentors and supervisors for all clinical roles.

To support the commissioning of consistent, nationally recognised training that in turn will facilitate career progression.

Our Stakeholders